Glendon Campus
York University
2275 Bayview Avenue
Toronto, Ontario
Canada M4N 3M6
The Michael Ondaatje Reading Series presents: Jane Urquhart, winner of the Governor General's Award 1997


Jane Urquhart was born in Little Longlac, 200 miles north of Thunder Bay, and spent her early childhood there. She moved with her family to Toronto in her late childhood where she attended Havergal and then the University of Guelph.

Her work includes: 1986 her first novel The Whirlpool, for which she received the French Prix du Meilleur Livre Étranger in 1992. In 1987 she published a collection of short stories entitled, Storm Glass and in 1990 she published Changing Heaven; In 1993 she published Away, a Celtic family saga spanning four generations that won the Trillium Award. She also won the Governor General’s Award for her 1997 novel entitled The Underpainter. The Stone Carvers, published in 2001 was a finalist for the Giller Prize. She published A Map of Glass in 2005, and in 2010 she published Sanctuary Line, a southern Ontario pastoral novel about identity, place and history.  Her poetry titles include I’m Walking in the Garden of His Imaginary Palace: Eleven Poems for Le Notre, 1982, False Shuffles, 1982, The Little Flowers of Madame de Montespan, 1984, and Some Other Garden, 2000.

 “...intoxicating fiction in which wind, light and weather are palpable presences, mirroring the characters' psychic energies and the moods of Mother Earth.” Publishers’ Weekly

Date: March 18, 2014
Time: 4:30 - 6:00 p.m.
Location: Senior Common Room, 3rd floor, York Hall
Light refreshments will be served.

Published on March 14, 2014